top of page

Cha Cha Real Smooth (2022) 🌽🌽🌽🌽

Heartwarming, touching, and brilliantly well-written, Cha Cha Real Smooth is the coming-of-age story I wish had existed in my early twenties.


Cooper Raiff stars, writes and directs this well-crafted self-reflection film. The chemistry between him and co-star Dakota Johnson drives this movie to a compelling and satisfying finish


But a big, BIG shout out to Vanessa Burghart and her portrayal of Lola. Considering my personal background it warmed my heart to learn that an autistic actor played an autistic part AND the part was handled with dignity and respect. Lola is by far my favorite part of the movie.


Without spoilers, story faults, and some minor cinematography choices clash, BUT the focus on relationships and self-reflection makes this movie an absolute home run. Better than the cha-cha slide






1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page