top of page

Don’t Look Up (2021) 🌽🌽🌽🌽🍿

Do you ever watch a movie, admit it’s a really good movie, brilliantly acted, and just get no enjoyment out of it? That’s me right now. It’s an excellent movie just way too real and poignant right now.


Yes. I know. That’s the point. And honestly plenty of people need to be slapped in the face. But I knew what emotions it was gonna evoke outta me hence why I stalled. I say this as someone who loves Mass Effect, an entire trilogy of people ignoring extinction event evidence


Jennifer Lawrence and Leonardo DiCaprio. You know when they’re in a project they are going to bring it and they crushed it. Their acting performances felt so real. Invokes real emotional investment into their arc and the story.


The supporting cast was brilliant. To Meryl Streep as President awful to Rob Morgan’s performance as the only other sane scientist? Everyone adds a brilliant performance to this movie. Jonah Hill is repugnant and Cate Blanchett plays her part perfectly.


If I was watching this in 2018 I would have loved it and enjoyed it, instead of loving it and thinking “alright now I’m angry.”


Don’t Look Up is straight to the point. A cold, cutting commentary on how just messed up human nature can be and the systems we created.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page