top of page

I Care a Lot (2022) 🌽🌽

A dark comedy without the comedy, a drama without frame, a thriller without thrills, I Care a Lot is a not vague at all critique of American capitalism that fails to hook in the audience by providing no characters to care about and misses the mark


The performances are fine, the cinematography is fine, I even like the weird decision for synth music. But when a movie pits two so openly scummy people against each other, it’s extremely difficult to pick a side.


And to be fair, I’m not really sure you’re supposed to pick a side? It’s fine when your protagonists have shades of grey or are even bad people but Marla shows no redeeming qualities throughout the movie. The only thing that can be said is “well at least she’s Russian mob!”


She’s an awful human being who scams the courts into giving her custody over old rich people and she takes their money and assets. And she’s pretty open about wanting to just be rich at all costs. She’s deplorable


Peter Dinklage is mysterious bad guy with 2000’s emo hair cut and then eventually a ponytail. We discover he’s Russian mob (spoiler I guess) but he just wants his mom back so his mission is more noble than our hero’s but he’s more deplorable?


I guessssss?


But the movie doesn’t want you to like anyone it wants to you hate greed and I already do. So when I watch a movie, I want to care about the characters AND the message. But since I didn’t care about the characters, I didn’t care about the story and I just feel unsatisfied


I’m sure someone reading this will like the movie and it has its redeeming qualities. It didn’t hook me. I just found myself conflicted on who to root for.


However. The last like, 3 minutes? By far my favorite part.

> My disappointment is immeasurable and my day is ruined.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page