top of page

Ratatouille (2007)🌽🌽🌽🌽🌽

"In many ways, the work of a critic is easy. We risk very little, yet enjoy a position over those who offer up their work and their selves to our judgment. We thrive on negative criticism, which is fun to write and to read. But the bitter truth we critics must face, is that in the grand scheme of things, the average piece of junk is probably more meaningful than our criticism designating it so. But there are times when a critic truly risks something, and that is in the discovery and defense of the *new*. The world is often unkind to new talent, new creations." - Anton Ego


Anyways, the king slept-on gem Ratatouille is no longer missed by this critic and I gotta admit: I was wrong, I was missing out. I didn’t think I was, it’s a rat that cooks… but it’s so silly and charming


There’s a certain magic to how the animation looks and the idea the movie puts out. Talent is talent, passion is passion; pursue it relentlessly. Or as the movie puts it, “Anyone can cook.”


It’s not an A list cast (part of why I think this movie isn’t talked about much) but I think the cast works. I think everyone fits perfectly EVEN big ol Brad Garrett attempting a French accent has a certain charm to it


It’s very charming and very positive. Self-affirming if you will. And I think this should be near the top of the rotation to show your kids. Instill that pursuit of passion while they’re young. The world is often unkind to new talent, new creations. The new needs friends.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page