top of page

Scream (1996) 🌽🌽🌽🌽🍿

What a great way to kick off Spooky Season with this instant classic. Wes Craven’s love song to horror is a clever thrill-ride from start to finish. Scream stabs at horror tropes with a slew of references and winks and nods while maintaining suspense


Granted it’s not the most suspenseful movie I’ve ever seen as Wes masterfully weaves humor into the tension. Horror buffs like this ear of corn will enjoy the stream of references to the genre. Scream is meta. Scream knows it’s a movie…


I mean we have characters saying “if this were a movie” multiple times and I am in love with what Wes Craven was doing here. Scream, to me, feels like a love song to the genre (yes I’m repeating myself deal with it) and I for one love this tune.


Also while we’re staring at Matthew Lillard, big shout out to the cast. Neve Campbell plays the lead and crushes it. Lillard plays the unhinged psychotic perfectly and was actually surprising when SPOILER FOR A 25 YEAR OLD MOVIE it turns out he was one of two killers!


David Arquette, Courtney Cox, Drew Barrymore, even the Fonz! (Henry winkler) Scream is a must see for any horror fan and honestly if you’re like me and never saw it because all the douche bags in your neighborhood were Ghostface for Halloween forget that, WATCH Scream


Scream is a perfect blend of horror and comedy that just hits aaallll the right notes. It pays homage to 80’s slashers while breathing new life (back then) into what the horror genre can and should be. Watch it, I know consider it required spooky season viewing

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page