top of page

The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1996) 🌽🌽🌽

90’s Disney really hits different. A movie with a lot of dark, dark tones but it’s the attempts at light-hearted humor that feel out of place, I feel this movie is best enjoyed by the adult crowd. Which is why I mostly enjoyed it


I’m struggling to put into words my thoughts and feelings about a movie that takes such drastic 180 turns in tone. I mean this song exists in a Disney movie…


Ironically that might be my favorite part because I am an adult and that song being in a Disney movie is something that I find amusing and WILD


Most of the attempts at humor to lighten the mood miss and feel really out of place, specifically Jason Alexander’s gargoyle The events and tone of this movie are so dark. It’s hard to reconcile at times.


Now, I enjoyed it. I even teared up more than once. I was invested in Quasi I just want him to be happy. The animation style is just absolutely stunning. Between that and Quasi I was very invested in this story


Overall enjoyable watch, but man those tonal shifts are VERY jarring. I can see why this didn’t have the commercial success other Disney movies had in that era. But a solid viewing. I enjoyed

1 view0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page