top of page

The Last Duel (2021) 🌽🌽🌽🌽

Nicole Holofcener, Matt Damon and Ben Affleck’s adaptation of the real story of Marguerite de Carrouges is a compelling medieval drama brilliantly directed by Ridley Scott. The three chapter structure was the perfect choice for telling this tale


When I saw Matt Damon was going to star in a medieval movie I thought he would be out of place and let me tell you… I don’t know if I’m right or wrong… Mostly Damon’s performance is quite good so overall the genre switch is a win Mullet was a weird choice…


Adam Driver’s performance as the despicable Jacques le Gris is fantastic. I found myself able to forget that’s Kylo and this time he plays a villain that starts charming and makes you hate him.


Emmy award winner Jodie Comer plays Marguerite at the center of this medieval drama and shines brightest of all these stars. Her performance in chapter 3 is to be lauded and commended.


The Last Duel tells a medieval drama and pulls no punches. This simple corn was glued to the story, desperately hoping for satisfying resolution which was received. The movie tells a captivating story, structured brilliantly, shot beautifully…


And managed to hold my attention the whole almost three hours of run time. Damon and Affleck’s first script together since Good Will Hunting delivers.


How you like them apples?

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page