top of page

tick, tick… BOOM! (2021) 🌽🌽🌽🌽🌽

Updated: Dec 28, 2022

An emotional journey for all my fellow creative types struggling to get off the ground, this film adaptation of Jonathan Larson’s 1991 work delivers heartfelt musical masterpiece that’s brilliantly acted. A dynamite directorial debut for Lin-Manual Miranda. The pacing feels right, the music is pitch perfect, and the cinematography is satisfying. The story is about Larson being a struggling writer building up to his big workshop for his musical, Superbia. All building to the missing song…


And the debut of this song does not disappoint. It was beautiful, moving. Much like this entire film. Granted I am the struggling to take off, freshly 30 creative type so maybe I was a bit invested in the story. Still, I dare say this movie could warm the coldest of hearts


I laughed, I cried, I was inspired. Andrew Garfield deserves every accolade that comes from this film. And that goes for his supporting cast as well. Alexandra Shipp as Susan Wilson and Robin de Jesús get special shouts


Fun fact: Stephen Sondheim himself recorded the voicemail. And Bradley Whitford played him in the movie. And his look is spot on.


Watch it, feel something maybe even be a bit inspired. I know I am. Tick tick BOOM! was a wonderful viewing that has stirred some inspiration when this corn was feeling a bit out of season. I hope it does the same for you

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page