top of page

Venom: Let There Be Carnage (2021)🌽🌽🌽🌽

So in my personal opinion as a very minor critic, I think it’s crucial to write and critique the movie presented for what the makers wanted it to be, not what I, the fan, wanted it to be. So having said that, let’s dig in, shall we?


(Beware minor spoilers, I try not to tell specific events but if you like to go in completely fresh with no opinions or feelings like I do, come back later)


Venom 2 for what they wanted it to be is quite good. They wanted a romp, with a lot of carnage (you’re welcome) and we certainly got that. It’s your classic buddy movie, Eddie and Venom are a mess, they fight, they separate, they unite its great.


Now, there are things I like, things I love, things I didn’t like, and things I hated, lets start with the hate… Without any spoilers there’s a major event in this movie that made me FURIOUS ask me after you’ve seen it


Shriek is just dreadful. Absolutely dreadful. The character is a plot device, the acting was poor and I honest to goodness cringed at some of her scenes Her role can be boiled down to two things: motivator for Cletus Kassidy and literal weapon


Now, something that’s just a regular didn’t like. Venom is supposed to be bigger than Carnage. Carnage is tall, gangly, Venom is a big beef boy. In this movie Carnage is straight up bigger than venom.


Okay now onto the good stuff. Tom Hardy crushes it as does his counter part Woody Harrison (was there any doubt?) Venom and Eddie’s dynamic is wonderfully entertaining and it continues the perfect odd-couple relationship


The look of Carnage (despite what I said earlier it’s more of a knock on venom) is spectacular. It’s perfect. They NAILED it. And woody’s voice for carnage was exactly what I hoped it would be


The fight scene is fantastic I loved it. It was chaos, destruction, everything I wanted in my CGI goo monster mash


Overall, this movie is almost exactly what they wanted it to be and I can’t fault them for that. Tom Hardy loves this character, and this story (he wrote the screen play) and it shows in his performance. This movie is much better than the first one, is definitely worth a watch


So go see Venom let there be carnage, have a delightful time. You know why you’re getting from super hero movies and this one delivers exactly what you think you’ll get.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page