top of page

Hereditary (2018) 🌽🌽🌽

Where to begin? Maybe it’s because it’s 1 am I find myself struggling to use my writer’s tone. So I’ll just wing it. The movie is good. The movie will definitely disturb and frighten an audience (not me but that’s because I’m a brave little corn cob)


The strongest aspects of this movie are the excellent cinematography with every shot feeling purposeful, and the wonderful roller coaster performance of Toni Collette as Annie. Annie’s breakdown as she deals with loss, grief, and the pesky occult is a roller coaster…


that Toni Collette masterfully takes us on. I cannot heal enough praise onto her performance.


Then the occult shows up. And I think to myself “who made this movie, ah the people that made The Witch” and it feels like the witch… I hated The Witch. Now I didn’t let that effect my score because this movie is much better.


But because I knew who made it, I figured out what kind of climax the movie was going to have and I was spot on. The ending built to a similar face and then crescendo-ed in a very similar, unsatisfying way.


It’s a disturbing movie that sets up as a disturbing dive into the effects of tragedy. It’s worth a watch. But I’m not adding this to the instant spooky season classic list.

0 views0 comments

Коментарі


bottom of page