top of page

Hocus Pocus (1993) 🌽🌽🍿

We all have those movies that we just absolutely adore because of the nostalgia attached to it Friends that love this movie… I’m sorry but this is one of those


It’s not great y’all.


Now it’s not bad. I’ve seen worse. But I didn’t watch it and think instant classic. Yes I have well passed the age target audience but that hasn’t stopped me from raving about other family demo movies.


The plot is actually pretty solid. Cursed Salem witches return cuz some dumb virgin lit a candle. I’ll play along. More of the jokes landed than missed for me too, to it’s credit


But considering the big names, I had some decent expectations. And I know she’s supposed to be over the top, Midler’s lead performance here misses for me.


Some of the deliveries strike a sour note and a lot of her dialogue felt very clunky.


Also the buck teeth. I can’t put my finger on why but it just made me extremely uncomfortable I just can’t.


Highlight of this movie for me sis anytime the movie let Sarah Jessica Parker do anything, which wasn’t often enough.


The non-which characters were hit and miss. Dani the sister was great. Allyson the love interest seemed like a mostly non-factor. And Max hates Halloween so he’s the worst. The mom dressed as Madonna got a laugh outta me admittedly.


I can see why so many people love this. I’ll admit it’s got its appeal. But I’m not it’s audience. I don’t think I ever was knowing what kid Corn was like.


It did not put a spell on me. And I look forward to disappointing all my friends.


But I will give this Disney movie credit for killing a kid five minutes in. That was unexpected. And the bud scene. Inappropriate. But funny

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page