top of page

The Lovely Bones (2009)🌽🌽🍿

A really interesting premise that’s ultimately let down by a lack of focus and execution, The Lovely Bones felt like it couldn’t decide which lane it wanted to go down and ended up swerving all over the road.


Strong acting, a compelling narrative and an interesting premise carried me from start to finish, but there were certainly many bumps along the way. I am unfamiliar with the course material, but Peter Jackson’s direction is lacking proper focus.


The movie needed to be cut down, with a couple scenes in my mind as out of place and needless. A focus on the compelling narrative and the emotional impact of the grieving family I think would have elevated the movie to the next level. A larger focus on drama and suspense


I don’t comment on a soundtrack often, but I have to say there are a few scenes, maybe four, that have actual songs and not just mood/score. And they all felt so out of place and jarring. This circles back to my point where this movie at times felt like it couldn’t pick a lane


Then there’s my guy Stanley Tucci. Delivered an excellent performance as our films antagonist. His performance shines the brightest of an overall good cast And I mean, look at him, never in doubt for a second he’s the bad guy here


Ultimately, The Lovely Bones trudges along to an okay movie that leaves the viewer a bit disappointed. At least this one. A great concept, good cast and compelling hook keep you viewing, but disjointed direction leaves scratching your head. Expected a lot more from Peter Jackson

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page